• Home
  • Tuesday 12 September 2023 (via Zoom): Anthony Anaxagorou

Tuesday 12 September 2023 (via Zoom): Anthony Anaxagorou

  • 12 Sep 2023
  • 18:00 - 19:30
  • Online (via Zoom)


Registration is closed




18:00 CET (VIA ZOOM)

Symbolism & Intuiting Meaning


In the session we’ll look to see how we can develop modes of communication through the use of symbolism and imagery. What can an inanimate object tell us about ourselves, our interior and our feelings? The aim will be to write using symbols to replace more direct modes of speech and communication. Rather than telling we’ll explore how we can create access points to allow the reader to inhabit the poem. 

Recommended Poets:

Bob Kaufman, Rae Armentrout, Robert Creeley, Mary Ruefle, Mei-mei Berssenbrugge, Terrance Hayes, John Ashbery, Keston Sutherland and J.H.Prynn.


Anthony Anaxagorou FRSL is a British-born Cypriot poet, fiction writer, essayist and publisher. His third collection, Heritage Aesthetics published with Granta Poetry in 2022, won the RSL Ondaatje Prize 2023 and was shortlisted for the Anglo-Hellenic League’s Runciman Award. It was listed as one of New Statesman’s top books of 2022.

His second collection, After the Formalities published with Penned in the Margins, is a Poetry Book Society Recommendation and was shortlisted for the 2019 T.S. Eliot Prize along with the 2021 Ledbury Munthe Poetry Prize for Second Collections. It was also a Telegraph and Guardian poetry book of the year.

In 2020 he published How To Write It with Merky Books; a practical guide fused with tips and memoir looking at the politics of writing as well as the craft of poetry and fiction along with the wider publishing industry.

Anthony is artistic director of Out-Spoken, a monthly poetry and music night held at London’s Southbank Centre, and publisher of Out-Spoken Press. He is the editor-in-chief of Propel Magazine, an online literary journal featuring the work of poets yet to publish a first collection.

In 2019 he was made an honorary fellow at the University of Roehampton. In 2023 he was elected as a Fellow of the Royal Society of Literature.

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software